Posted on

Watch The Throne

Jay-Z and Kanye West are amongst the most influential men in hip-hop and urban culture. Truthfully, I’ve never been a big fan of Jay-Z but there is no denying Hov is a boss so I can’t knock the hustle. As for Kanye, as much as I praise his work and respect his genius, he is real hit or miss with me sometimes. That being said, Watch The Throne is set to drop in about 2 weeks and we’ve been blessed with 2 singles. From what I’ve read, my opinions seem to concur with those of the masses, albeit the so-called “experts” seem to think otherwise.

“H.A.M” sounds like a B-Sides track that should’ve never left the vaults. It’s a great acronym and its definitely worked its way into everyday use but the elementary rhymes and grandiose Rick-Ross beat doesn’t suit Ye-Z.

“Otis” is promising but doesn’t meet the standard of quality we’re all accustomed to.

In summary, I’m not expecting alot from this project;  2-3 gems, a few tolerable album fillers, and then 2-3 tracks that will be unchecked in the iTunes library. I’m generally not this pessimisstic but I’ve learned to brace myself and prepare for the worst when it comes to hip-hop releases.

About kudzilla

Music keeps my world spinning. Just tryin' to enlighten and spread some quality sound.

Leave a Reply

