Posted on

Guilty Pleasure: Hoodie Allen

A year ago I probably would’ve ranted and raved about Hoodie Allen’s latest mixtape Leap Year. I think it was the sudden exposure and explosion of  frat-rap that drew my attention to artists like Kinetics & One Love, Mac Miller, Chris Webby, Sam Adams, etc. Luckily it was just a phase and I’ve gotten back to my roots thanks to Common, De La Soul, and Yeezy. Nonetheless, I occasionally surf GMAD and catch something I like. Hoodie Allen’s first hit “You Are Not A Robot” was one my favorite tracks last summer. Unfortunately the visual ruined it for me. Steve Markowitz aka ‘Hoodie Allen’ is a 22 year old UPenn grad. I can’t lie, finding out that I was listening to a jewish ivy league dude rap was a bit….disappoingting  embarassing deterring. Finding a word that describes exactly how I feel about a lot of the new music coming out, specifically the new artists, is near impossible. I’ve always been a huge hip-hop enthusiast and it is hard to accept the rapid change and progression of  traditional rap and hip-hop while still classifying it as hip-hop. After listening to Hoodie Allen’s recent mixtape Leap Year I am giving Hoodie my stamp of approval, regardless of genre. In fact, I put Hoodie Allen with the likes of early Kid Cudi and early Asher Roth in terms of sound and content. A bold claim since I believe Kid Cudi is one of the best artists making music right now, and I’m a big fan of Asher Roth (Not only did he [Ash] pioneer a genre, but he is still the very best in a category of music that is exponentially growing. Can’t wait for his sophomore album after hearing this recent leak.) In summary, I like Hoodie Allen and I’m not proud of it, hence the title ‘Guilty Pleasure.’ Give his mixtape a listen because its some quality sound.

P.S. Be on the looks for plenty more “Guilty Pleasure” posts

About kudzilla

Music keeps my world spinning. Just tryin' to enlighten and spread some quality sound.

Leave a Reply

